the 221st General Assembly


Moderator Rada insists, “In no way is this a reflection of our lack of love for our Jewish brothers and sisters.”

I’m sure that means a lot.

Of course, the moderator is now agreeing that divestment “affirms our Palestinian friends And our Jewish friends”.

And can’t Presbyterians feel so good about themselves now that they’re so affirming?

I have no words.  Tomorrow I will feel pity for the PC(USA) as a whole.

It is done.

Comments on: "PCUSA Divests by Seven Votes" (2)

  1. What would sate them? If they could finally really crucify Israel, would they at last relent? Or would the demon that drives them everlastingly prick them forward nonetheless?

    In a way, when looking into the horror of the manic hate for Israel (and I feel it directed at myself quite honestly), just seeing someone at least “get it” is extremely heart moving. I do thank you for at least understanding, and for the decency and reason of your spirit, which you exude here (and at DivestThis, where I discovered your blog from). So at any rate, thank you for being that way, mr spotts.

    Like

  2. Thank you for your comments Rm.

    To answer your question – I don’t think anything can sate them. The drive isn’t rational. The only positive I’ve ever seen in 10 years of this at the PC(USA) is this: some anti-Israel institutional PC(USA) people have changed their minds. They have been few, but when they finally saw it, they usually worked to oppose the bias.

    I would apologize for the PC(USA), but I can’t – I don’t represent them. And they’re not sorry…

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

